Logo Voyage

North West Nigeria Voyage Tips and guide

You can check the original Wikivoyage article Here

    The North West is a region of Nigeria. It is native homeland of Hausa people with the second largest tribe being Fulani. It is composed of the following states: Jigawa State, Kaduna State, Kano State, Katsina State, Kebbi State, Sokoto State, and Zamfara State.


    Map of North West Nigeria


    • 1 Birnin Kebbi — capital of Kebbi State
    • 2 Daura — the historical mother-city state of the Hausas
    • 3 Dutse — capital of Jigawa State
    • 4 Gusau — capital of Zamfara State
    • 5 Kaduna — commercial centre, possessing an oil refinery, and the capital of Kaduna State
    • 6 Kafanchan — economic capital of Southern Kaduna, beautiful waterfall, railway graveyard
    • 7 Kano — an ancient trading city with surprisingly many attractions to visit, and capital of Kano State
    • 8 Katsina — the centre of an agricultural region producing groundnuts, cotton, hides, millet and guinea corn, and capital of Katsina State
    • 9 Sokoto — an important seat of Islamic learning in Nigeria, and capital of Sokoto State
    • 10 Zaria - Hosts Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), one of the oldest and most respected tertiary institutions in Nigeria.

    Other destinations




    Hausa is by far the predominant language in this region.

    Get in


    Get around






    Stay safe




    Go next

    This region travel guide to North West Nigeria is an outline and may need more content. It has a template, but there is not enough information present. If there are Cities and Other destinations listed, they may not all be at usable status or there may not be a valid regional structure and a "Get in" section describing all of the typical ways to get here. Please plunge forward and help it grow!


    Powered by GetYourGuide